Warwick district has two parliamentary constituencies: Warwick & Leamington and Kenilworth & Southam. Each is represented by one Member of Parliament (MP). 

2017 general election

The poll for the election to the Warwick and Leamington and Kenilworth and Southam parliamentary constituencies was held on Thursday 8th June 2017. 

Candidates and results

Kenilworth and Southam

Candidate Party Votes
Rob Ballantyne Green Party 1133
Harry Francis Cottam UKIP 929
Richard Guy Dickson Liberal Democrat 4921
Bally Singh Labour Party 13131
Jeremy Paul Wright Conservative Party 31207 (Elected)
Registered voters: 66,319
Ballot papers issued: 51,476
Spoilt ballot papers: 99
Turnout: 77.6%

Warwick and Leamington

Candidate Party Votes
Jonathan Chilvers Green Party 1198
Bob Dhillon UKIP 799
Nick Solman Liberal Democrat 2810
Matt Western Labour Party 25227 (Elected)
Chris White Conservative Party 24021
Registered voters: 74,237
Ballot papers issued: 54,160
Spoilt ballot papers: 125
Turnout: 73%

2015 elections

Elections 2015 - information and results

Election dates 

The last general election took place on Thursday 8th June 2017.

Fixed term parliaments

The Fixed Term Parliament Act 2011 provides for five-year fixed term parliaments. The Act also includes provisions to allow the Prime Minister to alter the date by up to two months by Order. There are also two ways in which an election could be triggered before the end of the five-year term, these are: 

  1. if a motion of no confidence is passed and no alternative government is found, or 
  2. if a motion for an early general election is agreed either by at least two-thirds of the House or without division