Equalities and inclusion

Warwick District Council has a diverse community, and we accept that discrimination is a major barrier to providing a fair and just society. We acknowledge that there are some people who are prevented from taking part fully in the life of our community for a variety of reasons. This may include unfair treatment and exclusion based on one of several of the following factors: age, race, gender, disability, faith, language, skin colour, sexual orientation, socio-economic background or some other personal characteristic or circumstance.

The Council's commitment is to ensure equality of opportunity for all within the district; especially equality of access to the services we provide to different members of our communities. We recognise that serving our community means valuing not only the contribution of our workforce, but also the diverse communities that we are here to support and deliver services to. To do this, we know we need to understand our customers and their individual or combined needs so we can provide better services tailored to meet those needs.

All the Delivery Programmes in this grant fund are aimed at people living in Warwick District who experience barriers to services, have individual needs, or who experience deprivation.

Communities of interest

The Equality Act 2010 specifically identifies the protected characteristics of certain communities. In Warwick District, these are known as ‘communities of interest’ which are communities that extend beyond geographical boundaries but share common interest.

For the purposes of the grant fund, the list below of ‘communities of interest’ (which is not exhaustive) include those groups specifically covered by this legislation:

  • Children and Young People
  • Older People
  • Carers
  • Prisoners and Ex-offenders
  • Homeless People
  • Traveller Communities
  • Students
  • Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) Communities
  • Asylum Seekers and Refugees
  • People with Mental Health needs
  • Learning Disabled People
  • People with Sensory Impairment
  • Physically Disabled People
  • Faith Groups
  • Lesbians, Gay Men, Bisexual and Transgender/Transsexual People

Applicants should consider how they engage with local ‘communities of interest’, and how the principles of equalities and inclusivity are embedded in their work and most importantly be able to evidence this in their application.

Armed Forces Covenant

A Community Covenant is a voluntary statement of mutual support between a civilian community and its local Armed Forces Community. The aim of the Community Covenant is to encourage local communities to support the Armed Forces Community in their area and nurture understanding and awareness amongst the public of issues affecting the Armed Forces Community.

The Armed Forces Covenant Duty Statutory Guidance has been published, which means the element of the Armed Forces Act 2021 re: 'Covenant Duty' becomes law; there will be a short implementation period.

The Armed Forces Covenant Duty is the following legal obligation.  

When a specified body exercises a relevant function, it must have due regard to

  • a. The unique obligations of, and sacrifices made by, the Armed Forces and Armed Forces Community;  
  • b. The principle that it is desirable to remove disadvantages arising for Service people from membership, or former membership, of the Armed Forces (and Armed Forces Community); and, 
  • c. The principle that special provision for Service people may be justified by the effects on such people of membership, or former membership, of the Armed Forces (and Armed Forces Community). 

Under the legislation specified ‘bodies’ include: 

  • Local Authorities 
  • NHS Trusts and other NHS organisations such as Health/Care Boards 
  • Schools and Academies 

The Council, as one of the main signatories of the Warwickshire Armed Forces Covenant, would like applicants to consider how the service needs of this specific community can be embedded in their work where relevant and appropriate.