Tell us what you think about our site... Community safety - Warwick District Council
Coronavirus (COVID-19)

From Thursday 5 November to Wednesday 2 December there will be a lockdown in England.

Coronavirus information

Please see the anti-social behaviour page for issues and contact details related to anti-social behaviour. 

Our duty

The Safer Communities aim is protecting our communities from harm with emphasis on the prevention of incidents, whilst focusing on the most vulnerable to make them feel safer

We have a duty to:

  • Work in partnership with the Police, County Council, Police Authority, Fire & Rescue Service, Probation Trust and National Health Service to develop and implement strategies to tackle crime and disorder and the misuse of drugs in the district
  • Ensure that it does not contribute to increased crime and anti-social behaviour through the delivery of its services.

Our Community Safety Team helps to coordinate this work to tackle crime and disorder in the District.

  • Adopting a preventative culture in our service design and delivery
  • Delivering quality services and utilising all the powers available to us to make communities feel safer (such as licensing, CCTV and parking enforcement)
  • Consulting and involving the community in identifying crime and disorder problems and solutions.
  • Coordinating actions to address the concerns of local people
  • Ensuring that the concerns of Community Forums inform the picture of crime and disorder in the district, South Warwickshire & Warwickshire.
  • Working with Stratford-on-Avon District Council to jointly lead on tackling anti-social behaviour
  • Working together with Stratford-on-Avon District Council to drive and administer Safer South Warwickshire - Community Safety Partnership
  • Challenging the responsible authorities and cooperative bodies to do all they can to reduce crime and disorder and the fear of crime.

Levels of crime and disorder in Warwick district

In 2015/16 there were 7,286 recorded crimes in the district. This is up 1,551 crimes (+27%) on the previous 12 months and back to levels experienced in 2012/13 following the lowest ever totals since partnership working commenced in 1998. This is a baseline year and comparisons are not easy.

The rise in recorded crime follows an inspection by the Association of Chief Police Officers and changes in the way crimes are recorded. The increases have been seen across the county. The greatest impact has been on violent crime which accounts for the greater part of the increase in recorded crime. 

  • Violent crime is higher with1,982 violence crimes (with and without injury) 
  • Domestic burglary is up 33 crimes (11%) but the 2nd lowest total since 1998 
  • Serious acquisitive crime was down 100 crimes (10%), the lowest total since 1998 
  • Vehicle crime is down 126 crimes (20%), again the lowest total since 1998 
  • Robbery was down 3 crimes (7%), the lowest total since 1998 up 19 (37%) to 71 from 52 ( lowest ever total) 

There were 3,752 reported anti-social behaviour incidents which is down 265 (6%) and the lowest total since the recording standard for anti-social behaviour changed in 2011/12. 

Tackling anti-social behaviour is the Warwick District Council Community Safety priority and together with Stratford-on-Avon District Council take the lead in tackling this priority in South Warwickshire.

Warwickshire Police & Safer Neighbourhoods

Warwickshire Police introduced local policing teams across Warwickshire in 2006. There are eight Safer Neighbourhood Areas in Warwick district based on district council wards:

  • Kenilworth: Kenilworth and Burton Green
  • Warwick
  • Whitnash
  • North Leamington: Clarendon, Crown, Manor and Milverton
  • South Leamington: Brunswick and Willes
  • Warwick Rural West: Barford, Beausale, Baddesley Clinton, Bishops Tachbrook, Budbrooke, Chadwick End, Hampton on the Hill, Hampton Magna, Haseley, Hatton, Hatton Park, Haseley Knob, Hill Wootton, Honiley, Norton Lindsey, Lapworth, Leek Wootton, Little Shrewley, Lowsonford, Pinley Green, Sherbourne, Shrewley Common, Shrewley, Rowington, Wasperton & Wroxall
  • Warwick Rural East: Baginton, Bubbenhall, Cubbington, Eathorpe, Hunningham, Offchurch, Radford Semele & Stoneleigh.
  • The Leamington Town Safer Neighbourhoods Area is unique in that it is based on the borders of the licensing saturation zones.

Contact the Community Safety team

Community safety enquiry

Or telephoning us on 01926 456021.