Published: Thursday, 18th May 2023

Following the recent Local Elections and subsequent Council meeting, the Green party and the Labour party have established a Cabinet to lead the Council collaboratively.

Leader of the Council, Cllr Ian Davison, comments:

“I am deeply moved that all councillors voted for me to be Leader and look forward to working with them all. At the Council meeting, I outlined the Green Labour administration’s ambitious agenda. This includes reducing heating bills in council houses, the council’s civic buildings like Jubilee House in Kenilworth, and other properties in the district, such as privately owned homes. However, the top priority is addressing the multimillion-pound black hole in the Council’s finances, whilst improving recruitment and retention of Council staff to provide better services.”

Deputy Leader of the Council, Cllr Chris King comments:

“I believe this collaboration is one that will enable us to best deliver on what Labour voters wanted when they put their trust in us as councillors.  We know how much residents depend on our council so we have put Party politics aside and will work with the Greens to do whatever we can to improve our local services.   Our priority, as ever, is to support people in need, families, and our local businesses.  We believe by working together we can help make Warwick District the best place to live and work, where everyone from all backgrounds, feels safe and valued.”

Warwick District Council’s Portfolio Holders and Committee Chairmen have been confirmed as follows:

Portfolio Area Name

Portfolio Holder
Climate Change Councillor James Kennedy
Arts & Economy Councillor Ella Billiald
Safer Communities, Leisure and Environment Councillor Katie Hunt
Housing Councillor Paul Wightman
Neighbourhood Councillor Will Roberts
Place Councillor Chris King
Resources Councillor Jonathan Chilvers
Transformation Councillor Jess Harrison
Strategic Leadership Councillor Ian Davison

The new Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council were appointed at last night’s council meeting:

Chairman of the Council – Cllr Sidney Syson comments,

"It is a real honour to have been elected the Chairman of Warwick District Council, celebrating its 50th birthday this year.   It is an innovative and forward-looking Council and I hope this momentum is continued with our new administration. I look forward to working with a wealth of new councillors bringing with them their experience, talents, enthusiasm and energy."

Vice-Chairman of the Council – Cllr Robert Margrave comments,

“Having been an active member of Whitnash Town Council since 1999 and Mayor of Whitnash three times, I am honoured and delighted to be asked to serve as Deputy Chairman. I am looking forward to supporting the Chairman and representing this council over the next year.”

Licensing and Regulatory Committee
Councillor Gorman - Chairman
Councillor Sinnott - Vice-Chairman

Employment Committee
Councillor Sinnott – Chairman
Councillor Yellapragada – Vice-Chairman

Audit & Standards Committee
Councillor Hale - Chairman
Councillor Gifford - Vice-Chairman

Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Councillor Milton – Chairman

The full list of Councillors and meeting dates can be found on the Warwick District Council website.

Feeds from the web