Warwickshire County Council

A 'tier 1' council, Warwickshire County Council covers the area of five 'tier 2' district councils, including Warwick District Council. The main services provided by the county council include Education, Social Services, Libraries, Transport and Trading Standards. Warwickshire County Council and Warwick District Council work in partnership on many projects. District and county councils - who does what.

Neighbouring authorities

West Midlands Combined Authority 

The West Midlands Combined Authority is a collaboration between local councils. Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton have an agreement in principle that they want to form a combined authority. Combined authorities are legal bodies and are a new way for local authorities to work together on key strategic functions that cross geographic council boundaries.

Town councils in Warwick District

Parish councils in Warwick District

What does a Parish or Town Council do?

Parish Councils are the most local form of government. They collect money from Council Tax payers (via the District Council) known as a “precept” and this is used to invest in the area to improve services or facilities.

Parish Councils can take different forms but usually are made up of local people who stand for election as Parish Councillors to represent their area.

They can be the voice of the local community and work with other tiers of government and external organisations to co-ordinate and deliver services and work to improve the quality of life in the area.

Therefore, the District Council wants to ensure that parishes should be viable and should possess a precept that enables them to actively and effectively promote the well-being of their residents and to contribute to the real provision of services in their areas in an economic and efficient manner.